Top 10 Welsh Albums of the Decade

2000 -Lostprophets - Thefakesoundofprogress

Thefakesoundofprogress was the debut album by Lostprophets. Released initially in November 2000 by Visible Noise and then picked up by Columbia Records, this is the album that made the band a critical success.

2001 -Stereophonics - Just Enough Education To Perform

Just Enough Education to Perform (J.E.E.P) was the third album by The Stereophonics. It spawned three hit singles Mr Writer, Have A Nice Day and Handbags and Gladrags.

2002 - Feeder - Comfort in Sound

Comfort in Sound was the fourth album by Feeder. It was the first to be released after the death of drummer John Lee. The album recieved very favourable reviews and Kerrang hailed Feeder as the Best British Band.

2003 - Funeral For a Friend - Casually Dressed and Deep in Conversation

Casually Dressed and Deep in Conversation was the debut album by Funeral For a Friend. The album scored highly with critics and made the NME’s albums of the year list.

2004 - Greatest Hits - Goldie Lookin Chain

Greatest Hits was the first nationally released album by Goldie Lookin Chain. It featured tracks from the previous self  released Goldie Lookin Chain albums which were only available at Goldie Lookin Chain shows. It gained the band a cult following and a lot of press interest.

2005 - Bullet For My Valentine - The Poison

The Poison was the debut album by Bullet For My Valentine. The album debuted in the Billboard top 200 and as of 2009 has achieved gold record status.

2006 - The Automatic - Not Accepted Anywhere

Not Accepted Anywhere was the debut album by The Automatic. Stand out track Monster became the band’s anthem and the album recieved favourable reviews.

2007 - The Blackout - We Are The Dynamite

We Are The Dynamite was the debut album by The Blackout. The album gained the band a cult status and featured Ian Watkins (Lostprophets) providing guest vocals on the single It’s High Tide Baby.

2008 - Kids In Glass Houses - Smart Casual

Smart Casual was the debut album by Kids in Glass Houses. The album entered in the top 30 the week of its release and catapulted the band from local favourites the national treasures.

2009 - Manic Street Preachers - Journal For Plague Lovers

Journal For Plague Lovers is the ninth studio album by Manic Street Preachers. The album consists of lyrics written by Richey James who left them to the band before his disappearance in 1995. It was regarded as the best album of 2009 by author James Tucker.

Jarrad ‘Nöir’ Owens


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s